Find all information about West Central Railway train zone

West Central Railway

West Central Railway spreads across the states of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, and Maharashtra. The headquarters of this zone are located in Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh. The West Central Railway zone came into existence recently in 2003. 

It was formed by merging the Jabalpur and Bhopal divisions of the Central Railway zone and Kota of the Western Railway zone, and is currently as we know it. Its threshold is marked by eastern and central parts of Madhya Pradesh, northeast of Rajasthan, and south of Uttar Pradesh.

Currently, this zone has 3 divisions namely Jabalpur, Kota, and Bhopal. Some of the most important railway lines in this zone include the Mumbai-Howrah route via Itarsi-Jabalpur in the west-east direction and Delhi-Mumbai route via Ratlam. This network forms an important side of the golden quadrilateral of the network of Indian railways. 

This zone consists of a mixed track gauge and has a complete network of approximately 2911 km which amounts to roughly 1809 miles. The West Central Railway is a comparatively smaller zone than most others and was formed to allow smooth facilitation of passenger and freight trains within and outside the zone. 


List of divisions in West Central Railway zone

List of Railways stations in West Central Railway zone