Find all information about North Central Railway train zone

North Central Railway

The current network of the North Central Railways, as we now know it, came into existence on April 1st, 2003. As the name suggests, it extends over a large patch of the north-central area of India covering parts of states like Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi, and Rajasthan. 

It primarily spreads across 3 divisions namely Jhansi, Agra, and Allahabad. The reach of the North Central railways is limited by Ghaziabad in the north, Mughalsarai in the east which lies on the New Delhi-Howrah trunk route. 

2017 saw the installment of GPS assisted Fog Pilot Assistance System in 4 major railway zones namely Northern Railway zone, North Central Railway zone, North Eastern Railway zone, and North Western Railway zone. 

These markers enable the system to track the train closely thereby keeping an eye on approaching markers, level crossing gates, and signals. This, in turn, increases the safety measures of the railway zone as a whole. 

As far as the workshops on this zone are concerned, there are 2: The Wagon Repair Workshop in Jhansi and the Rail Spring Karkhana, Sithouli. The former deals with the repairing of wagon stock of the railways while the latter is more inclined towards the manufacturing of coach stock springs and locomotive springs. 

The NCR also boasts of the electric loco shed where railways are imparted modern technology functions especially the Duronto train that runs between Delhi and Howrah. 

NCR is now on its way to make solar power functioning a norm within the North Central Railway. And a solar power company called Vivaan Solar from Gwalior has been assigned this task of installing rooftop solar power panels across railway sheds in this zone. 


List of divisions in North Central Railway zone

List of Railways stations in North Central Railway zone