Find all information about Central Railway train zone

Central railway zone

The Central Railway commenced on April 16th, 1853 between Mumbai and Thane. However, it came into firm existence by merging a few railways in and around Mumbai that went on to create the Central Railway including the Great Indian Peninsula Railway, the Scindia State Railway of the former princely state of Gwalior, Nizam State Railway, Wardha Coal State Railway, and the Dholpur Railways.

The Central Railway that was created initially also included parts of Madhya Pradesh and southern Uttar Pradesh.  As far as the reach of the Central Railway goes, it includes primarily a large part of Maharashtra, some of southern Madhya Pradesh, and also north-eastern Karnataka. 

Furthermore, the Central Railway is also organized into five divisions: Mumbai, Bhusawal, Nagpur, Solapur, and Pune. With regards to area, track mileage, and staff, the Central Railway is the largest done among all 18 railway zones of India. 

New lines are being introduced in the Central Railway zone namely in and around Latur, Kolhapur, and Ahmednagar. Some of the popular trains in this railway zone include Latur express, Sahyadri express, Maharashtra express, Deccan Queen, Udyan express, and Vidarbha express among many others. 

The Central Railway also connects the hilly regions and hill stations of the Sahyadri Ghats including Mahabaleshwar, Matheran, and Lonavala. It is the strongest pillar on which the entire state of Maharashtra and a couple of other regions completely rely on for daily transport of people and essential goods.


List of divisions in Central Railway zone

List of Railways stations in Central Railway zone